LegacyGT.com

what to look for in new wheels/tire?

kaitanium

Looking at this thread

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/wheels-fit-05-08-legacy-and-outback-19741.html

seems like the wheels that im digging (rota tarmac 3) fits my OBXT. I have no experience with wheel + tire changes and was wondering what to look for if i want about the same tire thickness as i run now on these new rims?

say if i wanted +1in from my stock 17s and do 18in rotas since they only come in 18s. How do i know what tire will clear my wheel well? Does that even look too funky or lifted? It would be nice if i can use what Ive been using (michelin mxm4 primacy) for practical reasons such as ease of access at costco, decent comfort and wear life, ok price, etc.

I use - willtheyfit.com to figure out how a wheel would look and what issues I will have.

I think you have the stock suspension right?

You want either 245/45/18 (this is the same exact out diameter as 225/55/17) or 235/45/18 (slightly smaller). At stock height you can fit 245/45/18 easily.

You won't have the same tire thickness (but you will have the same overall diameter) switching to a larger wheel. You basically lose an inch of tire sidewall. This means that it should fit exactly the same as your current tires.

Where it get's tricky, is wheel offset is what mostly determines fit. Too low (et 0-30) and you could be running into the outer fender (doubtful on an Outback with OEM suspension). Too high, and you could be running into the inner fender (et 60+). All the previous depends on wheel width which I am assuming stays at 8 inches.

This is a really long way of saying you are fine with those wheels and tires as long as you get the diameter that matches what you currently have (245/45/18 or 235/45/18).