LegacyGT.com

Moving to CA

need bb

I took a job in the Bay Area and I am debating on bringing my LGT. I have heard many stories about the difficult CA emissions, and I don't want to bring my car to then have to de-mod everything.

If I bring my LGT will I need to change anything besides retuning for 91 octane?

Below is my mod list:

• Kinugawa TD05-20G
  • DW 850cc sidefeeds
  • Walbro 255
  • Grimmspeed TMIC
  • K&N Typhoon
  • Perrin turbo inlet
  • Grimmspeed EBCS
  • Forge BPV
  • Grimmspeed EWG Uppipe
  • CNT catted downpipe
  • SPT Catback

Thanks

Congrats on the job. Tech related?

Note: I'm not an expert, but I've gone through smog 3 or 4 times now.

-non-OEM downpipe is most likely automatic fail, catted or not

The other visible mods will tip off the inspector to look more closely.

-if the turbo is noticeably different from OEM (for example, shiny, clearly says Kinugawa, etc)

-not sure about TMIC - I've heard it MAY be allowed.

-K&N

-EBCS

-BPV

-Uppipe, if visible

Note: I have gutted OEM pipes, and have always passed. I put on a CNT pipe + Grimmspeed TMIC this summer, but am planning to remove them for smog in the fall, then put back on after.

They've never seen/complained about my DW 650s or Walbro - they don't look that far. But they do go under the car with a mirror to check for non-OEM pipes and/or missing cats. My BNR16 is one of the older ones that's in an original OEM VF40 housing, so it looks stock. Accessport and RomRaider tunes haven't been a problem, as long as the sensors are ready.

That does sounds like a lot of stuff to remove. If you get lucky and the inspector doesn't notice the non-OEM turbo related stuff, then just putting stock pipes/heatshields/intake/TMIC back might do the trick. But it's not a given.

Again, I'm not an expert, so wait to hear others' advice as well. Good luck!