LegacyGT.com

Engine Fits

moosebs09

I have a 1996 Legacy Lsi that might need some engine work and instead of putting too much work into it I would rather buy a new engine with less miles on it. If anyone knows about fits as far as a 2.2 L for this car or what size engine I should be looking for to mount up without any modifaction really needed please let me know. I realize is it a 2.5 L engine and I was just wondering if the 2.2L would fit and from what years/models I might be able to find a match as far as the engine. Also I found a set of heads, which is what I need but these heads are off a 2.5 L from a 99 legacy outback wagon, Any idea if these fit on my engine? Im new to subarus so I am learning about all this in the process so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Doing a 2.5 head on 2.2 block is what us old schooler leg owners call a frankenstien. I have never personally did it, but I know people who have. This can make your leg very fast. Especially when you use a GT computer and throttle body. Why don't you go all the way with a JDM H25 conversion?

No im not using a 2.5 on a 2.2. I currently have a 2.5 and might replace the head on that with a 2.5 head, I was just wondering about the fit of the 2.2 L in a legacy LSi in case that is the cheapest way for me to go right now as far as an engine. This isnt going to be a big project yet, I will do that later on, for now I want to get it back on the road and running the easiest and cheapest way possible.

• 2 weeks later...
Doing a 2.5 head on 2.2 block is what us old schooler leg owners call a frankenstien. I have never personally did it, but I know people who have. This can make your leg very fast. Especially when you use a GT computer and throttle body. Why don't you go all the way with a JDM H25 conversion?

What?!?!?!?!?