LegacyGT.com

Question about '98 clutch replacement.

BC2225

I've heard conflicting stories on the process of this. Being that my car is a 2.2, I've been told it's easier to remove all the accessories on the engine, as well as the fans, and bump the engine forward. Others have said remove the drive train.

That said, I'm no slouch in the mechanic biz. I was a tech for years. My questions comes into this, I can't find much, if any real reliable info on the engine slide method. This method would do me best, as working under cars is bad for my heath(a transfer case fell and crushed my shoulder some years ago), so to be able to get it from the top would be superb.

If anyone has instructions, a link, anything, it would be greatly helpful. The car is immobile, and it's my only vehicle, so I really need to get this done. Thanks!

Do you have a engine hoist ?

just lay the PS and AC on a fender, disconnect the fuel and electrical, remove radiator, lift engine out.

Look the job over, have a plan. See my click here link for ideas, I found I had to jack up the rear of the car to make it easier to slide the input shaft in to the pilot bushing.

You can find the service manual here .

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/wants-see-my-vacation-pixi-6216.html

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

While your other info was spot on with what I was already thnking(just trying to thnk about how to go about it, since Subarus are new ground for me, ain't my ol' chevys and fords). I will make quite sure to make a checklist, and as always bag and tag everything.

As for the manuals, it seems all the links to the 98s are dead,so I'll have to fish around to find 'em