LegacyGT.com

Yet another stereo install.

Helfrick

Finally got most everything together and in the car this past weekend. I have little car audio experience, but I think it came together pretty well. The plan was to add much more volume and fill out the bottom end without breaking the bank or sounding like crap. In my opinion, I accomplished both. So without further delay:

1 Polk Audio DB6500 6.5" components

1 Polk Audio GNX10DVC 10" dual 4ohm sub

1 Boss Audio Riot 745 400w amp

1 Q-logic sealed sub enclosure (on clearance for $21!)

1 loc from Circuit city

Rockford fosgate amp kit

speaker wire, crimp on connectors, rca patch cable, etc.

Disassembly is so much fun:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v390/Helfrick/Scooby/da2ebf07.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v390/Helfrick/Scooby/8bf764fd.jpg

As you can see from the above picture and the two below, the 2.5i is not cursed with a single HVAC/Stereo unit.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v390/Helfrick/Scooby/1fa02420.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v390/Helfrick/Scooby/4c34e0a3.jpg

The door panel was much fun. Needed to drill holes for the x-over and speakers. The 2" mounting depth on the Polks makes for a squeeze, but they fit without spacers.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v390/Helfrick/Scooby/f5271be3.jpg

I know some of you are groaning at my choice of an amplifier. I like it. It was cheap, met my size, power, and signal requirements. It also has a crossover (not on my previous amps from waay back), and a remote sub level control that I mounted behind the fuse door.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v390/Helfrick/Scooby/d8d4985b.jpg